2020 Virtual AERA Meeting

Dear members of the American Educational Research Association’s Special Interest Group for Research in Mathematics Education (SIG-RME),

We wanted to follow up on the announcement from AERA that the long-awaited annual meeting in San Francisco is canceled and that some aspects of the meeting will be moving to an online virtual format. We know this has created uncertainty and a logistical nightmare for many. However, we are thankful to the AERA leadership for thinking of everyone’s health first and for taking on the challenge of figuring out how to organize a virtual option for the conference.

As the logistics of moving to a virtual conference are still being worked out, we encourage you to take advantage of the listening forums once they are made available. Please watch for further emails from AERA and participate in the anticipated “briefing and listening sessions.” AERA will post and publicize information on these sessions. We will work with the AERA leadership to figure out how to have our SIG-RME represented in the virtual format of the conference and to do so in ways that honor our SIG’s dynamic and diverse membership.

We want to thank everyone for all of the work you have put into planning and preparing for the annual meeting. This includes all of the authors who submitted proposals and the reviewers who generously reviewed the roughly 200 proposals we received. Deep thanks to the SIG’s officers who had put together an exciting program, SIG business meeting, and early career and graduate student activities. This year’s program reflected our SIG’s rich diversity of perspectives and methodologies and commitment to addressing the many pressing issues facing mathematics education researchers. We look forward to working with you and honoring your work as we move the meeting to a virtual format.

Please watch for further information from us.


The SIG-RME Executive Board

  • Sandra Crespo, Co-chair
  • Jeff Choppin, Co-chair
  • Darrell Earnest, Awards
  • Nicole Joseph, Communications
  • Naomi Jessup, Electronics
  • Luis Leyva, Events
  • Lorraine Males, Treasurer
  • Daria Gerasimova, Graduate Student Representative
  • Lori Burch, Graduate Student Representative